MGIMO Students Win Young Tax Professional of the Year Competition

MGIMO Students Win Young Tax Professional of the Year Competition

24 October 2019

October 24th, the Moscow office of the leading audit and consulting company Ernst and Young hosted the all-Russian final of the annual tax competition Young Tax Professional of the Year 2019. MGIMO students Alina Ivanova and Veronika Sinyatkina came first and third in the individual contest, and Eva-Maria Shakhmaeva was a winner of the team event.

The competition comprised three stages: two done remotely and one in person. During the first round, participants were tested online on their knowledge of tax law. The second stage involved writing up solutions to five problems related to Russian and international taxation. More than 900 students and graduates in Law and Economics from all over Russia participated in the qualifying rounds. Only 38 participants made it to the finals.

The Russian finalists were invited to the Moscow office of the company and put into inter-university teams. They first played a board game, solving as many problems as possible under Russian tax law, and then presented in English a case decision to the jury on different aspects of international taxation. The jury assessed the participants’ level of English, their teamwork, presentation skills, knowledge, and ability to concisely respond to their questions.

The second year MA student at MGIMO Alina Ivanova won of the All-Russian final of Young Tax Professional of the Year 2019 and will represent Russia in the international finals of the competition, scheduled to take place late November in Amsterdam. Veronika Sinyatkina, a 1st year MA student at MGIMO came third. The 4th year student of the University’s International Law School Eva-Maria Shakhmaeva was on the team that took the first place in the team event.

The students were mentored by Dina Osina from the Department of Legal Theory and Comparative Law and supported by the management of the International Law School and the Department of Administrative and Financial Law.

Congratulations to our winners!