27 September 2016

Honorary Doctorates

MGIMO has granted honorary doctorate degrees to prominent foreign politicians, public experts, diplomats and scholars, working in the field of international relations and foreign policy.

Erlan Abdyldaev
Minister of Foreign Affairs of Kyrgyzstan
Nikolas Sarkozy
President of France (2007-2012)

Eduard Nalbandyan
Minister of Foreign Affairs of Armenia
Ahmet Üzümcü
Director-General of the Organization for the Prohibition of Chemical Weapons

Romano Prodi
Former President of the European Commission            
Danilo Turk
President of Slovenia (2007-2012)
Albert II 
Prince of Monaco
Louise Richardson
Principal and Vice Chancellor of  University of St Andrews
Manmohan Singh
Prime Minister of India (2004-2014)

Kingston P. Rhodes
Chairman of the International Civil Service Commission

Sukhbaatar Batbold
Prime Minister of Mongolia
Irina Bokova
Director-General of UNESCO
Vinton G. Cerf
Vice President of Google, Inc.
Shimon Peres
President of the State of Israel
Sheikh Hamad Bin Jassim Bin Jabor Al Thani
Prime Minister and Minister of Foreign Affairs of the State of Qatar
Ban Ki-moon
Secretary-General of the United Nations
Michel Sleiman
President of Lebanon

Rafael Correa Delgado
President of Ecuador
Veronica Michelle Bachelet Jeria
President of Chile

Demetris Christofias
President of the Republic of Cyprus
Kris Peeters
Minister-President of Flanders
Mahmoud Abbas
President of the Palestinian National Authority
Nursultan Nazarbayev
President of Kazakhstan
Don Gustavo Villapalos Salas
Rector of the Complutense University of Madrid

His Royal Highness Sultan bin Abdul Aziz Al Saud
Crown Prince of Saudi Arabia
Tun Abdullah bin Haji Ahmad Badawi
Prime Minister of Malaysia
Thierry de Montbrial
President of the French Institute of International Affairs

Ekmeleddin Ihsanoglu
Secretary-General of the Organization of the Islamic Conference
Yoshinobu Ishikawa
Governor of Shizuoka Prefecture, Japan

Frederik Paulsen
Chairman of Ferring Pharmaceuticals
Lee Kuan Yew
Minister Mentor, Republic of Singapore
Haji Hassanal Bolkiah
Sultan and Yang Di-Pertuan of Brunei
Louise Arbour
UN High Commissioner for Human Rights

King Abdullah II ibn Al Hussein
King of the Hashemite Kingdom of Jordan
Ilham Aliyev
President of Azerbaijan

Yoshiro Mori
Prime Minister of Japan
Megawati Sukarnoputri
President of Indonesia
Rafic Hariri
Prime Minister of Lebanon

Heydar Aliyev
President of Azerbaijan
Mohsen Bel Hadj Amor
Chairman of the International Civil Service Commission
Young-Hoon Suh
President of South Korea Red Cross

Giulio Andreotti
Senator for life of the Italian Republic
Seyed Mohammad Khatami
President of Iran
Shagdaryn Bira
Academician of the Mongolian Academy of Sciences

George Soros
International financier and philanthropist

Anton Kruiderink
Assistant to the UN Secretary-General Regional Director of UNDP for Europe and the CIS
Rudolph Augstein
Founder of Der Spiegel magazine

Askar Akayev
President of Kyrgyzstan
Jose Maria Gil-Robles Gil-Delgado
President of the European Parliament

Jacques Chirac
President of France
Martti Ahtisaari
President of the Republic of Finland
Fidel Valdez Ramos
President of the Philippines
His Royal Highness Prince El Hassan bin Talal
Prince of Jordan

Emilio Colombo
Chairman of the Italian Atlantic Committee, former Prime Minister of Italy
Miguel Angel Burelli Rivas
Minister of Foreign Affairs of Venezuela

Boutros Boutros-Ghali
Secretary-General of the United Nations
Federico Mayor
Director-General of UNESCO

Miguel Angel Martinez Martinez
President of the Parliamentary Assembly of the Council of Europe

Hans-Dietrich Genscher
Former Foreign Minister of the Federal Republic of Germany